Skip to content
January 7, 2011 / jimnv

Second Anniversary and About the “New Boss”

Today is the second anniversary of this blog, and I would like to thank the tens of thousands of visitors who have found my site informative and sometimes entertaining.  I did not expect that much attention. Again, Thank you!

I started the blog to vent about Jim Gibbons and the stupid things he did. I couldn’t help myself, you know?   It has been a good two years and I expect more and just because Gibbons is out of office does not mean there won’t be more people and things to write about including Gibbons.

I expect Sandoval to be smarter but just as entertaining and annoying as Gibbons. And regarding the Legislature… well, I will probably write a thousand unflattering words about them in the next 6 months!

Nevada’s politics reminds me of this statement, “Meet the new boss. Same as the old boss”.  It is from a great song by The Who called “Won’t Get Fooled Again”  written by Pete Townsend in 1971.  In 2006 he said his song was ”Meant to let politicians and revolutionaries alike know that what lay in the center of my life was not for sale, and could not be co-opted into any obvious cause.” My sentiments also.

For a great YouTube video of The Who singing the song, click here.  For the lyrics, click here.

The song is so appropriate for our time, and I hope we “don’t get fooled again” by politicians routinely influenced by business lobbyists, partisan business groups and “research” institutes.

After viewing the video, I thought, “I remember that time … we were all so young back then!” I guess we were, but maybe a little wiser now … I hope.


Leave a Reply

